Barkley: I'm Chelsea's Penalty Taker & I'll Take Again

Barkley: I'm Chelsea's Penalty Taker & I'll Take Again

Ross Barkley says he is Chelsea's designated penalty taker and insists he will take the next one the club are awarded despite his 87th-minute miss against Valencia on Tuesday.

Willian, Jorginho and Tammy Abraham were all in discussion with Barkley after the referee checked with VAR to give a penalty for a handball by Daniel Wass late on in the defeat to the Spanish side.

Rodrigo's 74th-minute goal proved the difference at Stamford Bridge and England midfielder Barkley has insisted he will take another one despite blazing his spot-kick over the bar.

"When I’m on the pitch, I’ll take the penalty," he told reporters. "Obviously I didn’t execute it right but everybody misses penalties. I didn’t score the goal but I felt confident. If there was another penalty in the game, I would have been confident to take it.

"You can miss penalties. It’s not the end of the world. We’ve got five more games in the group stage that we're aiming to win but this didn’t go our way."

Barkley has taken five other penalties during his time at Chelsea across penalty-shootouts and during matches. Follow us on Twitter and on Facebook
Loading...

Post a comment

0 Comments