Ballon d'Or winners: Football Club/Player with Most Ballon d’Or, Messi or Cristiano Ronaldo?

Ballon d'Or winners: Player with Most Ballon d’Or, Messi or Cristiano Ronaldo?

Ballon d'Or winners List, Players with Most Ballon d’Or, Football Club with Most Ballon d'Or Winner: Club with most Ballon d'Or  Player Real Madrid, Barcelona players?  Highest Ballon d'Or win

The Ballon d’Or, the most coveted individual award in men’s football, has been dominated by the rivalry of Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo in the modern era. These two greats from Argentina and Portugal have won a staggering 14 of the 16 awards since 2008, marking a thrilling duopoly of major team and player honours over the past two decades.

However, the incredible performances of Messi, Ronaldo, and other winners are only one part of their Ballon d’Or success. The impressive teams they played for provided the platform for these star players to shine brightly.

The Clubs Behind the Success

Major clubs from across Europe have produced Ballon d’Or winners since its first edition in 1956. When we say “produced”, we mean the team for whom the winner of the award was playing in the year of his triumph, not necessarily the club at which they came through the youth system or made their senior debut.

With Messi and Ronaldo racking up multiple award wins during their careers, and their peak years spent in Spain, Barcelona and Real Madrid unsurprisingly lead the pack with the most Ballon d’Or wins. The Clasico pair have produced 12 award wins each, with eight different players scooping the trophy at Real Madrid, and six at Barcelona.

Ronaldo won four of his five awards at Real Madrid (he was at Manchester United for his first), and Messi won six of his seven at Barcelona1. He played for Paris Saint-Germain during his last win in 2021.

Other clubs such as Juventus, AC Milan, Bayern Munich, Manchester United, Dynamo Kyiv, and Inter Milan have also had players who clinched the award at some point.

The Impact on Football

The Ballon d’Or is more than just an individual accolade. It enhances the reputation of the team that possesses the player and can significantly increase a team’s value. Having a Ballon d’Or winner can serve as an enticing appeal to young players considering signing with a club.

As we continue to watch and appreciate the beautiful game of football, let’s not forget to acknowledge the incredible teams behind these successful players. After all, football is a team sport, and every individual success is a testament to teamwork.

Most Ballon d'Or wins by club

Club Wins Players
Real Madrid 12 8
Barcelona 12 6
Juventus 8 6
AC Milan 8 6
Bayern Munich 5 3
Manchester United 4 4
Dynamo Kyiv 2 2
Inter Milan 2 2

Players with most Ballon d'Or wins

Rank Player Ballon d'Or wins Years won
1. Lionel Messi 7 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019, 2021, 2023
2. Cristiano Ronaldo 5 2008, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017
3. Michel Platini 3 1983, 1984, 1985
Johan Cruyff 3 1971, 1973, 1974
Marco van Basten 3 1988, 1989, 1992
6. Franz Beckenbauer 2 1972, 1976
Ronaldo 2 1997, 2002
Alfredo Di Stefano 2 1957, 1959
Kevin Keegan 2 1978, 1979
Karl-Heinz Rummenigge 2 1980, 1981

Men's Ballon d'Or winners

Year Player Club
1956 Stanley Matthews Blackpool
1957 Alfredo Di Stefano Real Madrid
1958 Raymond Kopa Real Madrid
1959 Alfredo Di Stefano Real Madrid
1960 Luis Suarez Barcelona
1961 Omar Sivori Juventus
1962 Josef Masopust Dukla Prague
1963 Lev Yashin Dynamo Moscow
1964 Denis Law Manchester United
1965 Eusebio Benfica
1966 Bobby Charlton Manchester United
1967 Florian Albert Ferencvaros
1968 George Best Manchester United
1969 Gianni Rivera AC Milan
1970 Gerd Muller Bayern Munich
1971 Johann Cruyff Ajax
1972 Franz Beckenbauer Bayern Munich
1973 Johann Cruyff Barcelona
1974 Johann Cruyff Barcelona
1975 Oleg Blokhin Dynamo Kyiv
1976 Franz Beckenbauer Bayern Munich
1977 Allan Simonsen Gladbach
1978 Kevin Keegan Hamburg
1979 Kevin Keegan Hamburg
1980 Karl-Heinz Rummenigge Bayern Munich
1981 Karl-Heinz Rummenigge Bayern Munich
1982 Paolo Rossi Juventus
1983 Michel Platini Juventus
1984 Michel Platini Juventus
1985 Michel Platini Juventus
1986 Igor Belanov Dynamo Kyiv
1987 Ruud Gullit AC Milan
1988 Marco van Basten AC Milan
1989 Marco van Basten AC Milan
1990 Lothar Matthaus Inter Milan
1991 Jean-Pierre Papin Marseille
1992 Marco van Basten AC Milan
1993 Roberto Baggio Juventus
1994 Hristo Stoichkov Barcelona
1995 George Weah AC Milan
1996 Mathias Sammer Borussia Dortmund
1997 Ronaldo Inter Milan
1998 Zinedine Zidane Juventus
1999 Rivaldo Barcelona
2000 Luis Figo Real Madrid
2001 Michael Owen Liverpool
2002 Ronaldo Real Madrid
2003 Pavel Nedved Juventus
2004 Andriy Shevchenko AC Milan
2005 Ronaldinho Barcelona
2006 Fabio Cannavaro Real Madrid
2007 Kaka AC Milan
2008 Cristiano Ronaldo Manchester United
2009 Lionel Messi Barcelona
2010 Lionel Messi Barcelona
2011 Lionel Messi Barcelona
2012 Lionel Messi Barcelona
2013 Cristiano Ronaldo Real Madrid
2014 Cristiano Ronaldo Real Madrid
2015 Lionel Messi Barcelona
2016 Cristiano Ronaldo Real Madrid
2017 Cristiano Ronaldo Real Madrid
2018 Luka Modric Real Madrid
2019 Lionel Messi Barcelona
2021 Lionel Messi PSG
2022 Karim Benzema Real Madrid
2023 Lionel Messi PSG/Inter Miami

The women's Ballon d'Or has been awarded since 2018 with the 2020 event cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Ballon d'Or Feminin

Year Player Club
2018 Ada Hegerberg Lyon
2019 Megan Rapinoe OL Reign
2021 Alexia Putellas Barcelona
2022 Alexia Putellas Barcelona
2023 Aitana Bonmati Barcelona

Next Post Previous Post
No Comment
Add Comment
comment url