The 23-Man Super Eagles Squad Rohr Named For AFCON 2019

Yeah, the coach in that tournament was that white guy Gernot Rohr.

He named a 23-man squad for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations, which took place in Egypt.

The Super Eagles can be said to have been lucky as they were drawn in Group B alongside Burundi and Madagascar, who participated in the tourney for the first time in their history, as well as Guinea.

Rohr’s Super Eagles squad for AFCON saw the inclusion of Premier League based-players Leon Balogun, Wilfred Ndidi, and Alex Iwobi.

Team captain John Obi Mikel also made the Nigeria AFCON 2019 squad list alongside Chelsea loanee Ola Aina, William Ekong of Udinese, and Villarreal forward Samuel Chukwueze.

Before this tournament, Mikel’s last game for the Super Eagles was at the 2018 World Cup in Russia.

He was absent all through the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers.

In short, Mikel was forced to make that AFCON completion his last outing for Nigeria.

Nigeria had failed to qualify for the last two tournaments and so 20 of the players on the squad to Egypt made their first appearances in the competition.

The majority of the squad that Rohr featured at the 2018 World Cup in Russia are named in Nigeria squad for AFCON 2019.

Let’s now take a look at the AFCON 2019 Super Eagles squad.

Nigeria Squad For 2019 African Cup Of Nation

Daniel Akpeyi South Africa Kaizer Chiefs 1986-08-03
Ikechukwu Ezenwa 1988-10-16
Maduka Okoye Netherlands Sparta Rotterdam 1999-08-28
Sebastian Osigwe Switzerland FC Lugano 1994-03-26
Ola Aina England Fulham FC 1996-10-08
Semi Ajayi England West Bromwich Albion 1993-11-09
Kevin Akpoguma Germany 1899 Hoffenheim 1995-04-19
Ifeanyi Anaemena 1992-02-16
Chidozie Awaziem Portugal Boavista 1997-01-01
Leon Balogun Scotland Rangers FC 1988-06-28
Jamilu Collins Germany SC Paderborn 07 1994-08-05
Tyronne Ebuehi Netherlands FC Twente 1995-12-16
Kingsley Ehizibue Germany 1. FC Köln 1995-05-25
Kenneth Omeruo Spain CD Leganés 1993-10-17
Zaidu Sanusi Portugal FC Porto 1997-06-13
William Troost-Ekong England Watford FC 1993-09-01
Mikel Agu Portugal Vitória Guimarães 1993-05-27
Joe Aribo Scotland Rangers FC 1996-07-21
Ramon Azeez Spain Granada CF 1992-12-12
Peter Etebo Turkey Galatasaray 1995-11-09
Wilfred Ndidi England Leicester City 1996-12-16
Abdullahi Shehu Cyprus Omonia Nikosia 1993-03-12
Samuel Chukwueze Spain Villarreal CF 1999-05-22
Emmanuel Dennis Belgium Club Brugge KV 1997-11-15
Cyriel Dessers Belgium KRC Genk 1994-12-08
Chidera Ejuke Russia CSKA Moskva 1998-01-02
Kelechi Iheanacho England Leicester City 1996-10-03
Alex Iwobi England Everton FC 1996-05-03
Samuel Kalu France Girondins Bordeaux 1997-08-26
Ahmed Musa Saudi Arabia Al Nassr 1992-10-14
Paul Onuachu Belgium KRC Genk 1994-05-28
Victor Osimhen Italy SSC Napoli 1998-12-29
Moses Simon France FC Nantes 1995-07-12
Gernot Rohr since 05/02/2018 1953-06-28

The three-time champions of Africa were one of the favourites to win the 2019 African Cup of Nations but unfortunately Rohr and his men fumbled at the semifinal against Algeria and Riyad Mahrez punished the Super Eagles goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi for standing right behind the defense wall he formed and Nigeria ended up winning 3rd place one more time.

This post was first published on GoalBall.

Follow us on Google newsTwitter and on Facebook

Post a comment