13 Players To Have Won The Champions League With More Than One Club

13 Players To Have Won The Champions League With More Than One Club

13 Players To Have Won The Champions League With More Than One Club

Real Madrid’s 1-0 victory over Liverpool in Paris has seen Alaba lift European’s most prestigious trophy for a third time in his career, having played a role in two different treble-winning campaigns at Bayern Munich in 2013 and 2020.

The Austrian defender has played a key role in each of those successes – and looking at some of the other names o have won the competition with different clubs, it takes something special.

Here are the 13 players to have won the Champions League with more than one club, with some select notes.

Note: we haven’t included the likes of Frank Rijkaard, Vladimir Jugovic and Dejan Savicevic, who won the first of their European Cups in the pre-Champions League era (1992 onwards).

1. Toni Kroos – Bayern Munich (2013), Real Madrid (2016, 2017, 2018, 2022)

The Germany international played a vital role in Bayern’s treble of 2012-13 and remained at the club during Pep Guardiola’s first season, when eventual champions Madrid beat them 5-0 on aggregate in the semi-finals.

He then won the World Cup and joined Los Blancos, going on to win the Champions League four times in eight years.

2. Cristiano Ronaldo – Manchester United (2008), Real Madrid (2014, 2016, 2017, 2018)

The star man, time and again. Ronaldo finished as the top scorer in the competition in each of the five seasons he lifted the trophy, first with Sir Alex Ferguson’s Manchester United and then four times with Madrid.

3. Mateo Kovacic – Real Madrid (2016, 2017, 2018), Chelsea (2021)

Ever an important squad player, Kovacic never made it onto the pitch during any of Madrid’s three-in-a-row final victories but did make a short, late cameo in Chelsea’s 1-0 win over Man City in 2021.

4. Gerard Pique – Manchester United (2008), Barcelona (2009, 2011, 2015)

The Catalan defender made three appearances for United in their 2007-08 triumph, but wasn’t in their squad for the final. Pique played a much more vital role for his boyhood club.

5. Clarence Seedorf – Ajax (1995), Real Madrid (1998), AC Milan (2003, 2007)

Still the only player to have won it with three different clubs.

6. David Alaba – Bayern Munich (2013, 2020), Real Madrid (2022)

7. Samuel Eto’o – Barcelona (2006, 2009), Inter (2010)

Back-to-back trebles with two different clubs. Ridiculous.

8. Fernando Redondo – Real Madrid (1998, 2000), AC Milan (2003)

9. Xherdan Shaqiri – Bayern Munich (2013), Liverpool (2019)

Two knockout minutes for Bayern in 2012-13. One knockout appearance for Liverpool in 2018-19 – though it was 90 minutes in that 4-0 victory over Barcelona. Fair play.

10. Daniel Sturridge – Chelsea (2012), Liverpool (2019)

Not a regular for either, with his peak years coming in between. Still, a useful squad player for both.

11. Thiago Alcantara – Barcelona (2011), Bayern Munich (2020)

So close to emulating Seedorf, having finished a runner-up at Liverpool, albeit having only played a peripheral role in Barcelona’s 2010-11 campaign.

12. Thiago Motta – Barcelona (2006), Inter (2010)

Famously sent off against his former club in the 2009-10 semis and subsequently missed the final for Inter.

13. Xabi Alonso – Liverpool (2005), Real Madrid (2014)

Source: Planet Football

Follow us on Google newsTwitter and on Facebook

Post a Comment

* Please Don't Spam Here. All the Comments are Reviewed by Admin.