Women's Ballon d’Or winners Top 5 - Ballon d'Or Feminin winner list 2023

Women's Ballon d’Or winners Top 5 - Ballon d'Or Feminin winner list 2023

Ballon d'Or Feminin 2023, Women's Ballon d’Or winners list. club with the most ballon d or winners in women's football. Female Ballon d'Or winners list

The Ballon d’Or, an award that has been honouring the best footballer since 1956, expanded its scope in 2018 to include a female equivalent - the Ballon d’Or Féminin. This prestigious award was introduced by France Football, the iconic publication that has been handing out the Ballon d’Or for most of its history.

The Genesis of the Ballon d’Or Féminin

The creation of the Ballon d’Or Féminin was a significant step towards recognizing and celebrating the achievements of female footballers. As the women’s game continues to grow in popularity, the winners of this award have already become household names in football.

The Aim and Scope

The Ballon d’Or Féminin aims to honor the female player deemed to have performed the best over the previous season. It’s not just about individual brilliance on the field, but also about the impact players have had on their teams and the sport as a whole.

The Winners So Far

Here’s a look at the illustrious list of winners so far:
  • 2018: The inaugural recipient of the Ballon d’Or Féminin was Ada Hegerberg from Lyon. She had finished the 2017/18 club season with more than 50 goals, including 15 in the Champions League.
  • 2019: Megan Rapinoe from OL Reign led USA to World Cup glory and made her voice heard in the fight for gender equality. She scored all four of her country’s goals in quarter-final and semi-final wins, as well as in the final.
  • 2020: Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, France Football decided not to go ahead with the Ballon d’Or awards.
  • 2021: Alexia Putellas from Barcelona was awarded after an outstanding treble season with Barcelona. She registered an astonishing 37 goals and 27 assists.
  • 2022: Alexia Putellas won again, becoming the first and only player to win the award twice and in consecutive years.
  • 2023: Aitana Bonmatí from Barcelona became the latest winner.

Ballon d'Or Feminin

Year Player Club
2018 Ada Hegerberg Lyon
2019 Megan Rapinoe OL Reign
2021 Alexia Putellas Barcelona
2022 Alexia Putellas Barcelona
2023 Aitana Bonmati Barcelona

The introduction of the Ballon d’Or Féminin has been a game-changer for women’s football, providing a platform to recognize and celebrate female players who are pushing boundaries and inspiring future generations. As we look forward to future seasons, we can expect many more thrilling performances and deserving winners.
Next Post Previous Post
No Comment
Add Comment
comment url