What is the Spanish Super Cup? All-time winners and All-time top scorers

What is the Spanish Super Cup? All-time winners and All-time top scorers

Supercopa de Espana All-time winners, Spanish Super Cup All-time top scorers and History

Get ready for football fireworks in the desert! The 2023/24 Supercopa de Espana kicks off in Saudi Arabia this Wednesday, January 10th, with sparks guaranteed to fly on and off the pitch.

Barcelona, defending champions, are ready to clash with debutants Osasuna, while city rivals Real Madrid and Atletico Madrid lock horns in another mouthwatering fixture. But before the action heats up, let's take a dive into the fascinating history and transformation of this unique trophy.

From Champions' Clashes to Desert Showdowns:

The Supercopa de Espana, like other European super cups, pits league champions against cup winners. But its journey hasn't been linear. Early versions like the Copa de Campeones and Copa Eva Duarte flickered in the 1940s and 50s, with Barca even lifting the latter uncontested after achieving the coveted double. Then came a 30-year hiatus before the official Supercopa arrived in 1982, with iconic two-legged battles becoming its signature.

Remember "La Manita"? Real Madrid crushed a Neymar-less Barcelona 5-1 on aggregate in 2017, while Barca got their revenge the following year in a one-off Tangier thriller. But in 2019, things took a sharp turn.

Money Talks, the Format Walks:

A lucrative €120 million deal with Saudi Arabia saw the Supercopa transformed into a four-team, mid-season extravaganza. Now, not just champions and cup winners, but also runners-up get a chance to dance in the sand. Remember 2020? Real Madrid, despite finishing third in La Liga, lifted the trophy as Barcelona, double winners, watched from the sidelines. Intriguing, isn't it?

So, why should you care?

Sure, some might consider it a commercial sideshow. But with Spanish giants locking horns in a neutral territory, the intensity promises to be off the charts. Barcelona's title defense, Osasuna's underdog spirit, and the always-fiery Madrid derby – these are just the appetizers. Plus, who knows, maybe lightning will strike twice and we'll witness another unexpected champion crowned under the desert sky.

So, dust off your vuvuzelas, grab your favorite jersey, and get ready for a week of Supercopa drama under the blazing Saudi sun. It's more than just a trophy; it's a clash of rivals, a test of champions, and a chance to witness footballing magic in the unlikeliest of settings.

Bonus Bites:
  • Barcelona holds the record with 14 Supercopa titles, followed by Real Madrid's 12.
  • Lionel Messi is the all-time top scorer with 14 goals.
  • This year's edition marks the second time the Supercopa is being held in Saudi Arabia.
With this revamped format and exotic backdrop, the Supercopa de Espana is more than just a preseason footnote. It's a mid-season spectacle, a chance for unexpected heroes, and a glimpse into the fiery rivalries that define Spanish football. So, buckle up and enjoy the show!

Supercopa de Espana all-time winners: Most Spanish Super Cup trophies

Barcelona's 3-1 win over Madrid last season extended their all-time record haul to 14.

Los Blancos predictably come in second with 12. Madrid and Barca's combined 26 successes make up two thirds of the overall Supercopas held since 1982.

Supercopa de Espana all-time winners

Wins Team
14 Barcelona
12 Real Madrid
3 Athletic Bilbao, Deportivo La Coruna
2 Atletico Madrid
1 Valencia, Sevilla, Real Zaragoza, Real Mallorca, Real Sociedad

Most Supercopa de Espana goals: Messi or Ronaldo?

Lionel Messi is out in front by a considerable margin as the all-time leading scorer in the Supercopa de Espana with 14 goals in 20 appearances.

Real Madrid greats Raul and Karim Benzema are next up with seven apiece, three more than Cristiano Ronaldo's four goals in seven games. 

Supercopa de Espana all-time top scorers

Player Team Goals Appearances
Lionel Messi Barcelona 14 20
Raul Real Madrid 7 12
Karim Benzema Real Madrid 7 13
Hristo Stoichkov Barcelona 6 10
Txiki Begiristain Real Madrid, Barcelona, Deportivo La Coruna 6 12
Frederic Kanoute Sevilla 5 2
Aritz Aduriz Athletic Bilbao 4 2
Cristiano Ronaldo Real Madrid 4 7
Jose Mari Bakero Real Sociedad, Barcelona 4 11
Xavi Barcelona 4 14
Next Post Previous Post
No Comment
Add Comment
comment url