Past AFCON Winners/champions: Who won The 2023 Africa Cup of Nations?

Past AFCON Winners: Who won The 2023 Africa Cup of Nations?

Past AFCON Winners? Who won the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations? Who has won the most Africa Cup of Nations titles? Full list of all-time Africa Cup of Nations champions

The recently concluded 2023 Africa Cup of Nations, hosted in the Ivory Coast from January to February 2024, proved to be a captivating spectacle with unexpected twists and turns that kept football enthusiasts on the edge of their seats.

In a surprising turn of events, Ivory Coast faced early setbacks, losing two out of three group-stage matches, culminating in a demoralizing 4-0 defeat to Equatorial Guinea. This led to the swift dismissal of head coach Jean-Louis Gasset. However, the team's fortune took a dramatic turn when assistant coach Emerse Fae assumed the role of interim manager. Against the odds, Fae steered the Elephants through the knockout stages, showcasing resilience and determination.

The final showdown in Abidjan brought Ivory Coast face to face with Nigeria, a team they had lost to during the group phase with a 1-0 scoreline. Nigeria, a consistent force in the tournament, had to overcome a resilient South Africa in the semifinals via a penalty shootout. Despite a challenging path, the Super Eagles displayed prowess, securing notable victories, including a 2-0 triumph over Cameroon, a pre-tournament favorite.

So, who emerged victorious in the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations final?

Ivory Coast secured a historic win, defeating Nigeria 2-1 on February 10, 2024. William Troost-Ekong gave the Super Eagles an early lead, but Franck Kessie equalized just after the hour mark. In a moment of sheer determination, Sebastien Haller, returning to football after a cancer diagnosis in 2022, scored the winning goal with nine minutes left in normal time.

This victory marked Ivory Coast's third AFCON title and their first since 2015, establishing them as a football powerhouse. Only Ghana, Cameroon, and Egypt have lifted the trophy more times in the history of the tournament.

Speaking of AFCON history, who holds the record for the most titles?

Egypt takes the crown as the dominant force in AFCON, having clinched the title seven times, including the inaugural edition in 1957. While six other nations boast multiple victories, a total of 15 winners have etched their names into the prestigious tournament's history. The 2023 AFCON not only showcased thrilling football moments but also added another chapter to the rich tapestry of African football history.

Who has won the most Africa Cup of Nations titles? Full list of all-time Africa Cup of Nations champions

Rank Nation AFCON titles Years won
1. Egypt 7 1957, 1959, 1986, 1998, 2006, 2008, 2010
2. Cameroon 5 1984, 1988, 2000, 2002, 2017
3. Ghana 4 1963, 1965, 1978, 1982
4. Ivory Coast 3 1992, 2015, 2023
= Nigeria 3 1980, 1994, 2013
= Algeria 2 1990, 2019
= DR Congo 2 1968, 1974
8. Zambia 1 2012
= Tunisia 1 2004
= Sudan 1 1970
= Senegal 1 2021
= Ethiopia 1 1962
= Morocco 1 1976
= South Africa 1 1996
= Congo 1 1972
Next Post Previous Post
No Comment
Add Comment
comment url