MLS top goal scorer 2024: Past Major League Soccer Golden Boot award winners

MLS top goal scorer 2024: Updated Major League Soccer rankings Golden Boot award

MLS top goal scorer 2024: Past Major League Soccer rankings as Lionel Messi aims for Golden Boot award

With more notable players moving to MLS, such as eight-time Ballon d or Award winner Messi, and ex-Barcelona forward Suarez, the Golden Boot award this season seems to be an interesting one

The prize is awarded to the player who has scored the most goals in the league throughout the year.

Last year saw LAFC forward Denis Bouanga win the Golden Boot after scoring 20 goals. He also contributed seven assists, making the Gabon international the third Black & Gold player to win the honour in the past five years, after Diego Rossi in 2020 and Carlos Vela in 2019.

While Messi is often regarded as the greatest player in the history of the game, the demanding United States domestic season promises numerous challenges, leaving the outcome wide open for any contender to seize.

MLS top goal scorer 2024: Updated rankings

The Sporting News will be updating the table below during every matchday of the 2024 MLS season through to the final matches.

Updated on April 27, 2024
Rank Player Club Goals (PKs) Assists Games Minutes
1. Lionel Messi Inter Miami 9 (1) 7 7 585
2. Cristian Arango Real Salt Lake (1) 7 10 895
  Christian Benteke D.C. United (0) 1 8 719
4. Luis Suarez Inter Miami (0) 4 10 649
  Lewis Morgan NY Red Bulls 7 (1) 2 10 771
5. Dejan Joveljic LA Galaxy (0) 2 9 688
  Denis Bouanga LAFC 5 (3) 2 9 810
  Giorgos Giakoumakis Atalanta United (1) 1 6 398

Past MLS Golden Boot Winners

Before 2005, Major League Soccer used a point system to award its Scoring Champion, but since 2005 they have awarded a more traditional Golden Boot for the league's top scorer.

Year Player Team Goals
2023 Denis Bouanga LAFC 20
2022 Hany Mukhtar Nashville SC 23
2021 Valentin Castellanos NYCFC 19
2020* Diego Rossi LAFC 14
2019 Carlos Vela LAFC 34
2018 Josef Martinez Atlanta United 31
2017 Nemanja Nikolic Chicago Fire 24
2016 Bradley Wright-Phillips NY Red Bulls 24
2015 Sebastian Giovinco Toronto FC 22
2014 Bradley Wright-Phillips NY Red Bulls 27
2013 Camilo Sanvezzo Vancouver 22
2012 Chris Wondolowski SJ Earthquakes 27
2011 Dwayne De Rosario D.C. United 16
2010 Chris Wondolowski SJ Earthquakes 18
2009 Jeff Cunningham FC Dallas 17
2008 Landon Donovan LA Galaxy 20
2007 Luciano Emilio D.C. United 20
2006 Jeff Cunningham Real Salt Lake 16
2005 Taylor Twellman NE Revolution 17

*2020 MLS season was shortened to 23 matches due to COVID-19 pandemic

Next Post Previous Post
No Comment
Add Comment
comment url