All-time Premier League titles longest winning streaks: Team with most consecutive win

All-time Premier League titles longest winning streaks: Team with most consecutive win

Has any team ever won four Premier League titles in a row? All-time list of longest winning streaks as Man City aim for glory

Manchester City cemented their place in the history books after clinching the 2023/24 Premier League title. The Citizens faced a fierce challenge from Arsenal, with Liverpool dropping out of the title race in the final stages.

While their reign as European champions ended with a Champions League quarter-final penalty shootout defeat to Real Madrid, Pep Guardiola's men have a chance to repeat their FA Cup triumph from last season, facing Manchester United in the final.

City secured crucial victories in the final stretch, defeating Fulham, then edging Tottenham in a tense 2-0 win, before concluding with a 3-1 home win over West Ham. This secured Guardiola's fourth consecutive Premier League title and his sixth overall since taking charge in 2016.

"We wanted to repeat the treble," said City captain Kyle Walker, expressing their initial ambition for the season. "But achieving four in a row would be a remarkable feat, along with the FA Cup, for a potential double. We're hopeful, and the destiny is in our hands."

This accomplishment is particularly significant as no team in the history of English top-flight football, dating back to the inaugural Division One season in 1888/89, has ever achieved four consecutive titles. City matched the record with their previous three-peat triumph.

While Huddersfield Town held the record for three consecutive First Division titles between 1924 and 1926, those remain their only league championships. Arsenal, under the legendary Herbert Chapman, came close to replicating the feat, winning the title in 1931/31 and 1932/33 before retaining it again in 1933/34 under George Allison.

Sir Alex Ferguson's Manchester United teams also secured three consecutive titles twice, the latter run narrowly missing out on a fourth due to a controversial Chelsea goal in 2009/10.

City have now surpassed their local rivals, solidifying their position as a dominant force under Guardiola's leadership. This unprecedented era of success will undoubtedly be remembered as a defining chapter in English football history.

Team to win three successive English league titles

Huddersfield Town1923/24, 1924/25, 1925/26
Arsenal1932/33, 1933/34, 1934/35
Liverpool 1981/82, 1982/83, 1983/84
Manchester United1998/99, 1999/00, 2000/01
Manchester United2006/07, 2007/08, 2008/09
Manchester City2020/21, 2021/22, 2022/23
Next Post Previous Post
No Comment
Add Comment
comment url