MLS top goal scorer 2024: Updated Major League Soccer Golden Boot award rankings

MLS top goal scorer 2024: Updated Major League Soccer Golden Boot award rankings

MLS top goal scorer- Golden Boot award 2024: Updated Major League Soccer rankings as Lionel Messi aims for Golden Boot award

The 2024 MLS season is heating up, and the race for the Golden Boot award, given to the league's top scorer, is wide open.

Last Season's Winner:

Denis Bouanga of LAFC claimed the 2023 Golden Boot with 20 goals, continuing LAFC's dominance in the scoring race, winning it three times in the past five years.

Early Frontrunners:

This season, a new name sits atop the leaderboard: Cristian Arango of Real Salt Lake.  However, a trio of established stars are hot on his heels:

Luis Suarez: Playing alongside Lionel Messi at Inter Miami, Suarez has benefitted from Messi's playmaking, racking up 11 goals.
Christian Benteke: The powerful Belgian striker has found his scoring touch at D.C. United, also with 11 goals.

Messi's Impact:

Lionel Messi, in his first full MLS season, is electrifying the league. While he sits at number four with 10 goals, his influence goes beyond scoring.  He holds the record for most goals contributed to in a single game (6) with a whopping 5 assists!

Season's Challenges:
Despite Messi's dominance, the demanding MLS schedule with long travel distances presents a challenge for any player to maintain peak scoring form. This keeps the Golden Boot race exciting, with several contenders still in the mix.

MLS top goal scorer 2024: Updated rankings

The e360hubs will update the table below during every matchday of the 2024 MLS season through to the final matches.

Updated on May 13, 2024

Rank Player Club Goals (PKs) Assists Games Minutes
1. Cristian Arango Real Salt Lake 11 (1) 7 12 1069
2. Luis Suarez Inter Miami 11 (0) 5 12 822
= Christian Benteke D.C. United 11 (1) 2 10 897
4. Lionel Messi Inter Miami 10 (1) 12 9 765
5. Lewis Morgan NY Red Bulls 8 (1) 3 12 951
6. Raul Ruidiaz Seattle Sounders 7 (4) 1 12 841
= Daniel Gazdag Philadelphia 7 (2) 1 10 853

Past MLS Golden Boot Winners

Prior to 2005, Major League Soccer used a point system to award its Scoring Champion, but since 2005 they have awarded a more traditional Golden Boot for the league's top scorer.

Year Player Team Goals
2023 Denis Bouanga LAFC 20
2022 Hany Mukhtar Nashville SC 23
2021 Valentin Castellanos NYCFC 19
2020* Diego Rossi LAFC 14
2019 Carlos Vela LAFC 34
2018 Josef Martinez Atlanta United 31
2017 Nemanja Nikolic Chicago Fire 24
2016 Bradley Wright-Phillips NY Red Bulls 24
2015 Sebastian Giovinco Toronto FC 22
2014 Bradley Wright-Phillips NY Red Bulls 27
2013 Camilo Sanvezzo Vancouver 22
2012 Chris Wondolowski SJ Earthquakes 27
2011 Dwayne De Rosario D.C. United 16
2010 Chris Wondolowski SJ Earthquakes 18
2009 Jeff Cunningham FC Dallas 17
2008 Landon Donovan LA Galaxy 20
2007 Luciano Emilio D.C. United 20
2006 Jeff Cunningham Real Salt Lake 16
2005 Taylor Twellman NE Revolution 17

*2020 MLS season was shortened to 23 matches due to COVID-19 pandemic

Next Post Previous Post
No Comment
Add Comment
comment url