Premier League Player of the Season 2023/24: Past winners

Premier League Player of the Season 2023/24: Past winners

The Premier League Player of the Season award for 2023/24 has been claimed by Manchester City's young star Phil Foden. Despite a competitive field of nominees, Foden's impressive campaign propelled him to the top spot.

Last Season's Winner:

Erling Haaland had a dominant 2022/23 season, breaking the record for goals in a single Premier League campaign. However, his performance this year wasn't quite as dominant, although he remains a top contender for the Golden Boot.

This Season's Winner:

Phil Foden, the 23-year-old England midfielder, emerged victorious. He stepped up for Manchester City during crucial moments, particularly when key players like Haaland and De Bruyne were sidelined.

List of Nominees:

  • Erling Haaland (Manchester City)
  • Alexander Isak (Newcastle United)
  • Martin Odegaard (Arsenal)
  • Cole Palmer (Chelsea)
  • Declan Rice (Arsenal)
  • Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool)
  • Ollie Watkins (Aston Villa)

Foden's Stellar Season:

Foden's contributions were undeniable. He racked up 17 goals and 8 assists in just 34 league appearances, proving his value as City aims to secure a historic fourth consecutive Premier League title.

A Look Back at Past Winners:

The article also explores the history of the award, which began in the 1994/95 season. Foden's win marks five consecutive years where a Manchester City player has claimed the title. Only four players have achieved multiple wins: Kevin De Bruyne, Thierry Henry, Cristiano Ronaldo, and Nemanja Vidic.

All-time Premier League Player of the Season award winners

Season Player Team
1994/95 Alan Shearer Blackburn Rovers
1995/96 Peter Schmeichel Manchester United
1996/97 Juninho Middlesbrough
1997/98 Michael Owen Liverpool
1998/99 Dwight Yorke Manchester United
1999/2000 Kevin Phillips Sunderland
2000/01 Patrick Vieira Arsenal
2001/02 Freddie Ljungberg Arsenal
2002/03 Ruud van Nistelrooy Manchester United
2003/04 Thierry Henry Arsenal
2004/05 Frank Lampard Chelsea
2005/06 Thierry Henry Arsenal
2006/07 Cristiano Ronaldo Manchester United
2007/08 Cristiano Ronaldo Manchester United
2008/09 Nemanja Vidic Manchester United
2009/10 Wayne Rooney Manchester United
2010/11 Nemanja Vidic Manchester United
2011/12 Vincent Kompany Manchester City
2012/13 Gareth Bale Tottenham
2013/14 Luis Suarez Liverpool
2014/15 Eden Hazard Chelsea
2015/16 Jamie Vardy Leicester City
2016/17 N'Golo Kante Chelsea
2017/18 Mohamed Salah Liverpool
2018/19 Virgil van Dijk Liverpool
2019/20 Kevin De Bruyne Manchester City
2020/21 Ruben Dias Manchester City
2021/22 Kevin De Bruyne Manchester City
2022/23 Erling Haaland Manchester City
2023/24 Phil Foden Manchester City
Next Post Previous Post
No Comment
Add Comment
comment url