All Time Copa America Leading Goalscorers

All Time Copa America Leading Goalscorers

All-Time Copa America Leading Goalscorers? Who are the All-time Copa America Leading Goalscorers? Have you ever wanted to find out on who are Copa America's top scorers? Well, if you have then worry not because we have prepared a list of the Copa America Leading Scorers – All Time. 

This article explores the history of the Copa America and dives into the top scorers of this prestigious South American football tournament.

Copa America: A Historic Tournament

The Copa America, formerly known as the South American Football Championship, is an international football tournament established in 1916. Uruguay emerged victorious in the inaugural edition hosted by Brazil. Since then, 46 editions have been played, with Uruguay holding the record for most titles. Interestingly, Uruguay and Argentina are the most successful teams, each boasting 15 championships.

Recent Copa America Champions

Argentina secured their 15th title in the 2021 Copa America, defeating Brazil 1-0 in the finals held on Brazilian soil. The 2019 edition saw Brazil claim their ninth title with a 3-1 victory over Peru in the final. Prior to that, Chile reigned supreme in 2016, defeating Argentina on penalties after a scoreless draw.

Top Scorers Throughout History

The coveted title of all-time Copa America leading goalscorer is shared by two legendary players: Argentina's Norberto Mendez and Brazil's Zizinho. Both strikers have etched their names in history with an impressive tally of 17 goals each. Notably, Lionel Messi, the iconic Argentinian forward, sits close behind with 13 goals and has a strong chance of becoming the all-time leader in future tournaments.

Rank Player Country Goals
1 Norberto Méndez Argentina 17
Zizinho Brazil
3 Lolo Fernández Peru 15
Severino Varela Uruguay
5 Paolo Guerrero Peru 14
Eduardo Vargas Chile
7 Ademir Brazil 13
Gabriel Batistuta Argentina
Jair Brazil
Lionel Messi Argentina
José Manuel Moreno Argentina
Héctor Scarone Uruguay
13 Roberto Porta Uruguay 12
Ángel Romano Uruguay
15 Herminio Masantonio Argentina 11
Didi Brazil
17 Javier Ambrois Uruguay 10
Héctor Castro Uruguay
Enrique Hormazábal Chile
Arnoldo Iguarán Colombia
Ángel Labruna Argentina
Ronaldo Brazil
Óscar Gómez Sánchez Peru
Pedro Petrone Uruguay
Next Post Previous Post
No Comment
Add Comment
comment url