European Golden Shoe Past Winners list 1968-2022

European Golden Shoe Past Winners list 1968-2022

European Golden Shoe Winners list – Past all time Winners 1968-2022

European Golden Shoe winners list? List of European Golden Boot past winners? Which player has won the most Golden Shoes?
European Football Each Season’s Leading Goal Scorer? Players with most goals in Europe’s top division football? Who is the player with the most goals in European football history? Who are the top goal scorers in the European top division ever in history?

Back in 1968 when they introduced the European Golden Shoe award it was called the “Soulier d’Or” (Golden Shoe). The Golden Shoe was an award which was awarded to the players with most league goals.

That included most goals in Cup competition and European goals were not included, only respective leagues. The award was awarded by the L’Équipe magazine since its inception in 1968. During the 1996-97 season that changed to the European Sports Media.

UEFA Coefficient Rule
From 1968-1991, the Golden Shoe was awarded to anyone regardless of the toughness of the league or the number of games the player had taken part in. During this period, Eusébio, Gerd Müller, Dudu Georgescu and Fernando Gomes each won the Golden Shoe twice. That doesn’t mean these players did not deserve the Golden Shoe (Shoe).

After a number of complaints, The European Sports Media has awarded the Golden shoe to players according to points obtained. This allows players in tougher leagues to claim the award even if they scored fewer goals than players in weaker leagues.

In 1991, The European Golden Shoe rules were revived with leagues around the world divided according to UEFA Coefficients were goals scored in top leagues like in England, Spanish and Germany were given 2.0 points while goals scored in leagues like the French Ligue 1, Dutch League etc were given 1.5 points.

Who won the inaugural European Golden Shoe Award in 1968?
So who won the inaugural European Golden Shoe award in 1968? The first European Golden Shoe winner was the Portuguese star Eusébio. Eusébio scored 43 goals for Benfica in Primeira Liga during 1968 season.

That was the most league goals in Europe during 1968 and Eusébio was awarded the first Golden Shoe. Eusébio received the Golden Shoe award again later in 1973 when he scored 40 goals.

1967–68 EusébioBenficaPrimeira Liga
1968–69Petar ZhekovCSKA SofiaParva Liga
1969–70Gerd MüllerBayern MunichBundesliga
1970–71 Josip SkoblarMarseille Ligue 1
1972–73EusébioBenficaPrimeira Liga
1973–74 Héctor YazaldeSporting CP Primeira Liga
1974–75Dudu GeorgescuDinamoBucurești Liga I
1975–76 Sotiris KaiafasOmonia NicosiaCypriot First Division
1976–77 Dudu GeorgescuDinamoBucurești Liga I
1977–78 Hans KranklRapid WienAustrian Bundesliga
1978–79 Kees KistAZEredivisie
1979–80 Erwin VandenberghLierseBelgian First Division
1980–81 Georgi SlavkovBotev PlovdivParva Liga
1981–82  Wim KieftAjaxEredivisie
1982–83  Fernando GomesPortoPrimeira Liga
1983–84  Ian Rush LiverpoolFirst Division
1984–85  Fernando GomesPortoPrimeira Liga
1985–86  Marco van BastenAjaxEredivisie
1986–87 Toni PolsterAustria WienAustrian Bundesliga
1987–88  Tanju ÇolakGalatasaraySüper Lig
1988–89 Dorin Mateuț DinamoBucurești Liga I
1989–90Hugo SánchezReal MadridLa Liga
1989–90Hristo StoichkovCSKA Sofia   A PFG
1990-91 Darko PančevRed Star Belgrade  Yugoslav First League
1992–93  Ally McCoist RangersScottish Premier Division
1993–94David TaylorPorthmadog League of Wales
1994–95 Arsen AvetisyanHomenetmenArmenian League
1995–96 Zviad EndeladzeMargvetiUmaglesi Liga
1996–97 RonaldoBarcelonaLa Liga
1997–98Nikos MachlasVitesseEredivisie
1998–99Mário JardelPortoPrimeira Liga
2000 Kevin PhillipsSunderlandEnglish Premier League
2001Henrik Larsson  CelticScottish Premier League
2002 Mário JardelSportingPortugal Liga
2003 Roy MakaayDeportivoSpanish La Liga
2004 Thierry HenryArsenalEnglish Premier League
2005 Thierry HenryArsenalEnglish Premier League
2006 Luca ToniFiorentinaItalian Serie A
2007 Francesco TottiRomaItalian Serie A
2008 Cristiano RonaldoMan UtdEnglish Premier League
2009  Diego ForlánAthletico MadridSpanish La Liga
2010 Lionel MessiBarcelonaSpanish La Liga
2011  Cristiano RonaldoReal MadridSpanish La Liga
2012  Lionel MessiBarcelonaSpanish La Liga
2013 Lionel MessiBarcelonaSpanish La Liga
2014 Cristiano RonaldoReal MadridSpanish La Liga
2015Cristiano RonaldoReal MadridSpanish La Liga
2016 Luis SuarezBarcelonaSpanish La Liga
2017   Lionel MessiBarcelonaSpanish La Liga
2018 Lionel MessiBarcelonaSpanish La Liga
2019 Lionel MessiBarcelonaSpanish La Liga
2020Ciro ImmobileLazioSerie A
2021Robert LewandowskiBayern MunichBundesliga
2022 Robert LewandowskiBayern MunichBundesliga

Which player has the most Golden Shoes? Most European Golden Shoes awarded!

Who has been awarded the Most European Golden Shoe? Lionel Messi is the player that has been awarded the most European Golden Shoe.

Lionel Messi is the only player to have won the European Golden Shoe six times. He also holds the record for most goals and most points in a single season (50 and 100 respectively, in 2011–12).

Cristiano Ronaldo is the only player to have won the European Golden Shoe four times.

Although Lionel Messi was the first three-time Golden Shoe winner in a row during 2009-10, 2011-12 and 2012-13. He also accomplished that again during 2016-17, 2017/18 and 2018/19.

Gerd Müller was the first player to win the award twice in a row, in 1969-70 and 1970-7.

Football PlayerNo.Seasons
Lionel Messi62009-10, 2011-12, 2012-13, 2016-17, 2017-18, 2018-19
Cristiano Ronaldo 42007–08, 2010–11, 2013–14, 2014–15
Eusébio21967-68, 1972-73
Gerd Müller 21969-70, 1971-72
Dudu Georgescu 21974-75, 1976-77
Fernando Gomes21982-83, 1984-85
Ally McCoist 21991-92, 1992-93
Mário Jardel 21998-99, 2001-02
Thierry Henry 22003-04, 2004-05

Follow us on Google newsTwitter and on Facebook

Post a Comment

* Please Don't Spam Here. All the Comments are Reviewed by Admin.